Steering Committee

The GETSEA Steering Committee is comprised of the center directors at each of GETSEA’s eight member institutions. Steering Committee members serve on the working committees of GETSEA, and direct key programming. These initiatives include the crafting of a needs assessment survey on the state of Southeast Asian studies, mini-course initiatives, a virtual speaker series, and foreign language course exchanges.

Steering Committee Members (2022):

GETSEA Chair: Abby Cohn, ex officio (Cornell, Professor of Linguistics)

GETSEA Vice Chair: Judy Ledgerwood, Northern Illinois University (Professor of Anthropology)

Allen Hicken, University of Michigan (Professor of Political Science)

Miriam Stark, University of Hawai’i (Professor of Anthropology)

Celia Lowe, University of Washington (Professor of Anthropology and International Studies)

Nam Kim, University of Wisconsin-Madison (Professor of Archaeology)

Stephen Acabado, University of California, Los Angeles (Associate Professor of Anthropology)

Nancy Lee Peluso, University of California, Berkeley (Henry J. Vaux Distinguished Professor of Forest Policy)

Thomas Pepinsky, Cornell University (Walter F. LaFeber Professor of Government)